West Bengal bypoll: Kanthi Dakshin records 79.7% voter turnout till 5 pm

Tamluk: An estimated 79.7 percent polling was recorded in the Assembly by-poll in Kanthi Dakshin constituency in East Midnapore district till 5 pm, a district election official said on Sunday.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

"Till 5 pm, 79.7 percent voting was registered in Kanthi Dakshin Assembly constituency. Till now, no untoward incident reported has been reported," the official said.

Polling will was expected to end at 6 pm.

Over 2.5 lakh voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in this by-poll.

Voters, a large number of them women, cast their vote in 258 booths spread across the constituency since the morning hours, braving heat and humidity.

Five candidates are in the fray including Chandrima Bhattacharya of TMC, Sourindra Mohan Jana of BJP, Uttam Pradhan of CPI(M) and Nabakumar Nandi of Congress.

The by-election is being held after TMC MLA Dibyendu Adhikari's election to the Lok Sabha from Tamluk seat.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 09, 2017 21:54:55 IST

Also See