Voting underway for Goa Rajya Sabha seat, BJP's Vinay Tendulkar faces Congress's Shantaram Naik

Panaji: Voting is underway in Panaji for the election to the lone Rajya Sabha seat from Goa. There is a straight fight between Goa BJP president Vinay Tendulkar and state Congress chief Shantaram Naik for the seat.

 Voting underway for Goa Rajya Sabha seat, BJPs Vinay Tendulkar faces Congresss Shantaram Naik

Representational image. Reuters

Naik, a sitting Rajya Sabha member, is seeking a third consecutive term.

As many as 18 legislators from the ruling group cast their votes after polling began in the Legislative Assembly building in Porvorim at 10 am.

During the first two hours, 36 out of the 38 legislators, who are eligible for voting, cast their votes.

The result will be announced by Friday evening.

The BJP has 12 legislators in the 40-member state Assembly. Its allies comprise Goa Forward Party and Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party having three legislators each, and three independents, taking its tally to 21.

The Congress has 16 MLAs in the state.

Two MLAs — Siddharth Kuncolienkar and Vishwajit Rane — had earlier resigned.

NCP MLA Churchill Alemao has kept his cards close to his chest.

Alemao on Thursday said he would not like to disclose whom he was supporting.

Tendulkar had earlier expressed confidence about his victory. "The numbers are with us," he said,

Naik also said he was hopeful of winning the election.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Jul 21, 2017 12:39:38 IST