Uttarakhand Election Result 2017: Anti-incumbency wave leads BJP to biggest victory

BJP workers have started celebrating at the party's state headquarters in Dehradun, after the party rushed towards a certain victory in Uttarakhand. News18 has called it a win for BJP in Uttarakhand.

Counting trends reveal a clear majority for BJP with 54 seats. Congress, the incumbent party in the state, leads in just 13 seats. Uttarakhand has always seen an anti-incumbency wave in the state but the scale of this victory reveals that the Narendra Modi-wave has spread throughout the state.

File image of Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Uttarakhand. AFP

File image of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. AFP

It is first time in history that one party has managed to attain such a high lead. It is likely that demonetisation and OROP issue have helped BJP to build on voters' faith. Development was another issue that made people vote in their favour.

Harish Rawat, who worked as a one man army for Congress, couldn't stand up to BJP’s aggressive strategy. It seems that the inner differences have proved to be the last nail in the coffin of the Grand Old Party.

What helped BJP win in Uttarakhand?

The victory would prove that the charisma of Prime Minister Narendra Modi has worked and that BJP left no stone unturned to ensure its victory.

It was important to win in Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh after losing the 2015 Bihar Assembly election. This win should be enough to quieten those who were saying that Modi’s influence was fading.

Intensive campaigning and star-studded, high voltage rallies have proved to be successful in turning the voter's mind in BJP’s favour. It is clear that Modi's development funda has worked.

It is clear that the Kedarnath reconstruction and permanent capital in Gairsain, the major poll issues for Congress, have not managed to influence the voters as BJP has been successful in drawing the lines between development versus corruption in the state.

The prime minister had constantly reminded the voters about demonetisation, OROP and surgical strikes and other work done by BJP government in the Centre.

Possible CM Candidates 

Harish Rawat has constantly played the victim card in the run up to the election, highlighting the fact that the BJP government at the Centre ignored the state, and also tried to derail his government by triggering a constitutional crisis.

Vijay Bahuguna, the former Congress leader was the previous chief minister of the hill state, and the person most likely to become CM again if the BJP does secure a victory.

BC Khanduri, the a two-time chief minister of Uttarakhand, ascending to the post for a two-year period immediately following BJP's win in the 2007 Assembly election.

Ramesh Pokhriyal is another former chief minister of the BJP, who is contesting the polls this year and has hopes of ascending to the CM's throne.

Ajay Bhatt has been state BJP president since the summer of last year, when nine Congress rebels joined the party.

Follow the Uttarakhand Election Result 2017 LIVE

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 11:12 AM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See