Co-presented by

Uttarakhand Election Results 2017: Party-wise results reveal BJP's dominance over Congress

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) closed in on a massive win in Uttarakhand on Saturday, as they clinched the 70-seat Assembly with a comfortable majority, relegating Harish Rawat's incumbent Congress party to a heavy defeat. While most exit polls had predicted between 35 to 40 votes for BJP, the margin of victory — the party managed to win 57 seats — has come as a bit of a surprise to most pollsters.

As Firstpost reported in another copy, there were a total of 637 candidates in the fray for the 70 Assembly constituencies of the state. Among them, 261 were independent candidates. In fact, in about a dozen constituencies, independent candidates made for a triangular battle alongside Congress and BJP representatives. In the plain districts of Udhamsinhnagar and Haridwar, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was considered to be a strong alternative, but didn't put up a fight.

 Uttarakhand Election Results 2017: Party-wise results reveal BJPs dominance over Congress

Party-wise vote share in Uttarakhand. Source: eciresults.nic

Here are the party-wise results in Uttarakhand:

Party Won
Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) 57
Indian National Congress (INC) 11
Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP)  -
Independent  2
Total  70

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 19:02:20 IST