associate sponsors


Uttarakhand Election Results 2017: How fate of key candidates panned out

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) looked set to storm to a massive win in Uttarakhand on Saturday, as they are likely to clinch the 70-seat Assembly with a comfortable majority, relegating Harish Rawat's incumbent Congress party to a heavy defeat. While most exit polls had predicted between 35 to 40 votes for BJP, the margin of victory — the party is looking well on course to cross the 50-seat mark — has come as a bit of a surprise to most pollsters.

Most of Congress' key candidates suffered heavy defeats on Saturday, none more so than Chief Minister Harish Rawat himself, who had contested from two constituencies — Haridwar Rural and Kichcha — but lost from the former and is trailing from the other. A number of Congress MLAs had defected to BJP last year, and most of them have fared quite well.

Here's a list of the key candidates, and which way their fates were sealed:


Candidate Constituency Result
Satpal Maharaj Chaubattakhal  Won
Shaila Rani Rawat Kedarnath  Lost
Ajay Bhatt Ranikhet  Lost
Saurabh Bahuguna Sitarganj  Won
Sanjeev Arya Nainital Won
Umesh Sharma Raipur Won
Kedar Singh Rawat Yamunotri  Won
Ganesh Joshi Mussoorie  Won
Pradeep Batra Roorkee  Won


Candidate Constituency Result
Govind Singh Kunjwal Jageshwar  Won
Kishore Upadhyay Sahaspur  Lost
Mamata Rakesh Bhagwanpur Won
Harish Rawat Haridwar (Rural)  Lost
Harish Rawat Kiccha  Lost
Surender Singh Negi Kotdwar  Lost
Anusuya Prasad Malkhuri Karnprayag  Lost
Suryakant Dhasmana Dehradun Cantt  Lost
Brahamswaroop Brahmachari Haridwar  Lost
Rajpal Kharola Rishikesh  Lost
Ranjeet Rawat Ramnagar  Lost


Candidate Constituency Result
Sarwat Karim Ansari (BSP) Manglore  Lost
Bhagavat Singh (BSP) Jhabrera  Lost
Ramkumar Rana (BSP) Bhagwanpur  Lost
Manju Singh (Independent) Sahaspur  Lost

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2017 19:15 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See