Co-presented by

Uttarakhand CM swearing-in LIVE: Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath; Modi, Amit Shah present

Auto Refresh Feeds


Uttarakhand CM swearing-in LIVE: Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath; Modi, Amit Shah present
  • 16:05 (IST)

  • 15:27 (IST)

    PM Modi leaves venue

    Half of the candidates who took oath on Saturday were among the ministers in the Harish Rawat government last year. The ministers who took oath on Saturday are all prominent faces of uttarakhand politics. Only Madan Kaushik and Arvind Pandey are newcomers.

    PM Modi didn't address the people and left the venue.

  • 15:24 (IST)

    Oath-taking ceremony ends

  • 15:23 (IST)

    Ministers of state take oath

    Two ministers of state who took oath are Rekha Arya, who left Congress and joined BJP last year. She is an MLA from Someshwar seat. 

    Dhan Singh Rawat, who is an MLA from Srinagar Seat, took oath. His name was floating around for the chief minister's post. He has good organisational skills and is a close ally of RSS.

  • 15:19 (IST)

    Oath-taking ceremony going on

    Yashpal Arya, who left congress in January, takes oath. Arvind Pandey, MLA from Gadarpur takes oath. Subodh Uniyal, MLA from Narendra Nagarm takes oath. Tehri Garhwal, one of the Congress rebels, takes oath. 

  • 15:15 (IST)

  • 15:15 (IST)

    Cabinet ministers swearing-in

    Harak Singh Rawat, who was a minister in Harish Rawat government, takes oath as cabinet minister. Madan Kaushik, a three-time MLA also takes oath.

  • 15:10 (IST)

    Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath as new chief minister

    Satpal Maharaj, who is a spiritual guru and has lakhs of followers all over the country and has remained a two-time MP from Pauri, takes oath as cabinet minister. Prakash Panth also take oath as a cabinet minister.

  • 15:07 (IST)

    Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath

  • 15:04 (IST)

    Cabinet positions almost finalised

    Union minister JP Nadda, Dharmendra Pradhan, Uttarakhand election in-charge Shyam Jaju and state BJP president Ajay Bhatt have decided the names to be in the cabinet. Prakash Pant (who was also in the race for chief minister post), Madan Kaushik (MLA from Haridwar), Yashpal Arya, Harak Singh Rawat are the leaders who are almost finalised for cabinet positions.                         Balancing many factors in the cabinet is also an issue. Placing new faces like Ritu Khanduri, Saurabh Bahuguna and Sanjeev Arya is debatable.

    Amit Shah, Rajnath Singh and Uma Bharti have reached the venue.

  • 14:54 (IST)

  • 14:53 (IST)

    List of cabinet leaders unclear

    Politicians like BC Khanduri, Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, Vijay Bahuguna, Prakash Pant, Madan Kaushik, Teerath Singh Rawat, Satpal Maharaj are present at the stage.

    Earlier name of nine candidates were to take oath, but now the names of only five leaders are doing the rounds. More than 20 candidates are in the race for a place in the cabinet. This includes old loyalists and Congress rebels.

  • 14:48 (IST)

    BJP top leaders arrive to attend swearing-in ceremony

    BJP leader, Manohar Lal Khattar, current chief minister of Haryana state and former RSS pracharak has arrived in Dehradun and is on the cereminial state. Prime Minister Narendra Modi too has arrived in Dehradun. Swearing-in ceremony to start soon. Former Uttarakhand chief minister Harish Rawat too has reached parade ground.

  • 14:41 (IST)

  • 14:41 (IST)

Long-time Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) activist Trivendra Singh Rawat will take oath as the next chief minister of Uttarakhand on Saturday afternoon.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) President Amit Shah are likely to attend the grand ceremony at the Parade Grounds in Dehradun.

Rawat will be sworn in as the ninth chief minister of the hill state.

Party sources told IANS that six ministers were also likely to be sworn in with Rawat.

 Uttarakhand CM swearing-in LIVE: Trivendra Singh Rawat takes oath; Modi, Amit Shah present

Trivendra Singh Rawat. Image courtesy: Twitter

A former associate of Modi, Rawat was Agriculture Minister in the previous BJP government in Uttarakhand, which was carved out of Uttar Pradesh in 2000.

Elected from Doiwala, where he defeated Congress's Hira Singh Bisht with a margin of over 24,000 votes, Rawat is widely regarded in the party for his organisational skills.

He is also known as a 'Pracharak' (campaigner) in the RSS.

In the assembly elections, the BJP stunned the Congress by winning 57 of the 70 seats in Uttarakhand.

Rawat will be the fifth BJP chief minister in the state. The party formed its first government in the state in 2000 with Nityanand Swami as the first chief minister.

With inputs from IANS

Your guide to the latest seat tally, live updates, analysis and list of winners for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 542 constituencies on counting day of the general elections.

Updated Date: Mar 18, 2017 16:05:33 IST