associate sponsors


Uttar Pradesh Election 2017: BJP releases third list of 67 candidates for polls

New Delhi: The BJP on Tuesday released its third list of 67 candidates for Uttar Pradesh assembly polls, which includes the name of former BSP leader Swamy Prasad Maurya, who had recently defected to the saffron party.

With this, the party has so far announced the names of 370 candidates with no Muslim nominee among them. The election to the 403-member Assembly will take place in seven phases, starting 11 February.

While for remaining 30 seats, the party is in talks with its allies Apna Dal and Bhartiya Samaj Party, BJP's National General Secretary Arun Singh told reporters in New Dwlhi while releasing the list of its candidates.

Representational image. Reuters

Besides Maurya, the party has also given tickets to RK Chaudhary and Dara Singh Chouhan, both of who have joined the BJP from BSP.

Maurya will be BJP's candidate from Padrona seat, while RK Chaudhary and Dara Singh Chauhan have been nominated from Mohanlalganj and Madhuban seats respectively.

All three are influential faces of their respective castes, which plays major role in deciding the fortune of various candidates in Uttar Pradesh.

BJP has also nominated its former state party President Surya Pratap Shahi from Pathardeva.

Most of these candidates whose names were announced today are from the seats which will go to polls in sixth and seventh phase.

The seven-phase polls in the state will take place on 11, 15, 19, 23, 27 February and 4 and 8 March.

The party has been pulling out all stops to capture power in Uttar Pradesh, which in terms of political implications is more important than all other four poll-bound states.

Updated Date: Jan 24, 2017 19:55 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See