Uttar Pradesh bypolls: BJP announces candidates for Gorakhpur, Phulpur seats in Lok Sabha by-elections to be held on 11 March

New Delhi: The BJP on Monday announced its candidates for the Lok Sabha by-elections next month, choosing seasoned organisational leader Upendra Shukla for Gorakhpur and former Varanasi mayor Kaushalendra Singh Patel for Phulpur.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

The two seats in Uttar Pradesh fell vacant after Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya resigned from the Lok Sabha following their appointments last year.

The choice of Shukla is seen as an outreach by the party to Brahmins, who are the largest upper caste community in the state and have been its traditional supporters.

The party also announced its candidates in Bihar, naming Pradeep Singh as its nominee for the Araria Lok Sabha by-poll and Rinki Pandey for the Bhabua Assembly by-election.

Singh, a former Araria MP, had lost to RJD's Taslimuddin in 2014.

The by-elections are scheduled to be held on 11 March.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 19, 2018 13:44:39 IST