UP division plan not a political gimmick, says Mayawati

Denying that the resolution passed in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly today relating to the division of the state was an electoral gimmick, Chief Minister Mayawati said the Centre's inaction over a 2007 letter forced her government to take the matter to the House.

"The decision to divide the state is taken for the welfare of the people," Mayawati said in a press conference after the Assembly was adjourned sine die.

 UP division plan not a political gimmick, says Mayawati

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati. Reuters

Rejecting the Opposition's claim that the Bahujan Samaj Party is in minority, she said, "My government is not in minority as claimed by the Opposition. It is a joint conspiracy by the Opposition to weaken the state government."

Addressing the media in sharp language, the chief minister said, "Some party MLAs and ministers are investigated by the Lokayukta for alleged corruption. They have either resigned or been removed from their posts so that the Opposition cannot blame me of saving the guilty.

"Does it mean that with cases going on against them they cease to be BSP members? All MLAs are with us despite cases going on against them," Mayawati said.

Drawing a parallel to the Telangana situation in Congress-ruled Andhra Pradesh, she said, "Congress MLAs and MPs from the Telangana region have forwarded their resignation to their respective speakers and the decisions are awaited. The situation is unlike Andhra Pradesh here."

Blaming the Opposition for anti-Dalit mentality, the chief minister said, "All Opposition parties are against division of the state and anti-Dalits. The Opposition is responsible for compelling the Speaker to adjourn the House sine die."

In an attempt to protect the Speaker from verbal assault, Mayawati said, "The Speaker ran the House as per laid norms. The Centre and Opposition parties will be punished soon in the elections that are not far away."

The chief minister also came down heavily upon bete noire Samajwadi Party and Bharatiya Janta Party.

Updated Date: Nov 21, 2011 13:53:11 IST