Tumkur Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE updates: Former Prime Minister Deve Gowda loses

Tumkur Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 19

Total Electors: 15,18,518 (2014 estimates)

Male Electors: 7,64,561

Female Electors: 7,53,957

Assembly Constituencies: Chikkanayakanahalli, Tiptur, Turuvekere, Tumkur City, Tumkur Rural, Koratagere (SC), Gubbi, Madhugiri

Reserved: No

Delimited: Yes. In 2008.

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: GS Basavaraj won the seat in 1999 and 2009 elections, first as a Congress candidate and then as a BJP nominee. In 2004, S Mallikarjunaiah of the BJP won the seat. Ten years later, in the 2014 elections, BJP lost the seat to Congress candidate SP Muddahanumegowda.

Demography: Situated close to state capital Bengaluru, Tumkur, the district headquarters, is quickly becoming a satellite town of Bengaluru. Tumkur is unique as it borders eight other districts — the most in Karnataka — and remains a bastion of Lingayat community in the otherwise Vokkaliga-dominated South Karnataka. Lingayats are dominant in 9 out of the 11 constituencies in the district; Chikkanayakanahalli, Tiptur and Tumkur Rural being their major pockets. Vokkaligas the second most important group while Dalits are the third largest group.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on https://www.firstpost.com/firstcricket/series/icc-cricket-world-cup-2019.html. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 19:53:35 IST