Trivendra Singh Rawat is new Uttarakhand CM; take a look at his cabinet picks

Trivendra Singh Rawat was administered oath of office as Uttarakhand’s ninth chief minister by Governor KK Paul at a function at the Parade Ground in Dehradun on Saturday. Apart from Rawat, seven cabinet ministers and two ministers of state also took the oath of office.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP national president Amit Shah, Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh, Union Minister Uma Bharti and Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar attended the swearing-in ceremony that continued for half-an-hour. Former Uttarakhand chief ministers Harish Rawat, BC Khanduri, Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, Vijay Bahuguna and Ramesh Pokhriyal were also present.

Following are the profiles of the ministers who would be part of the Rawat ministry in Uttarakhand:

Trivendra Singh Rawat. Photo courtesy: Twitter

Trivendra Singh Rawat. Photo courtesy: Twitter

Satpal Maharaj

Former Union minister Satpal Maharaj, who took oath as a cabinet minister, is known as the face of Uttarakhand politics. He won the Chaubattakhal seat in the recently held polls. This is his first entry into the state Assembly. Son of famous spiritual leader Yogiraj Paramsant Shri Hansji Maharaj, the 65-year-old MLA Maharaj is also a spiritual guru.

He was member of Lok Sabha for two terms from Pauri. He left the Congress and joined BJP on 21 March 2014 at the time of Lok Sabha polls.

Harak Singh Rawat

Prominent face of Uttarakhand politics, the 57-year-old MLA belongs to Srinagar Garhwal. He was sworn-in as the cabinet minister on Saturday. He was among the nine former Congress MLAs who had rebelled against the Harish Rawat government last year. He had crossed over to the BJP and is currently an MLA from the Kotdwar seat.

Prakash Pant

Touted as a very strong contender for the chief minister's post in last leg of the race, Prakash Pant is a two-time MLA from Pithoragarh assembly who lost his seat in 2012 to Mayukh Singh of Congress. The 56-year-old MLA was the first speaker of Uttarakhand legislative assembly. He was also the minister in government of Uttarakhand with portfolio of tourism, culture, pilgrimage endowment, parliamentary affair and reorganization.

Madan Kaushik

BJP MLA from Haridwar, Madan Kaushik was a prominent name in the list of prospected cabinet ministers. The 52-year-old MLA represents an important Hindu seat and after continuing his term the fourth time as the Haridwar MLA Kaushik has proved himself as a BJP stalwart in Uttarakhand.

Yashpal Arya

Yashpal Arya was the Dalit face of Congress before he left the party in January and crossed over to the BJP. He wanted ticket for his son Sanjeev Arya and Congress denied it. Later he joined the BJP and got a ticket for his son and himself. He was elected from Mukteshwar seat in 2002 and 2007. He was the president of the Uttarakhand Congress committee from 2007 to 2014. Later he was elected from Bajpur in 2012 and was a front-runner candidate for the chief ministerial post.

Subodh Uniyal

The 57-year-old leader, Subodh Uniyal, is the MLA from the Narendranagar seat. In 2002 and 2012, he had represented the Congress in the Uttarakhand Assembly from the Narendranagar seat.

A former Congress MLA and a close aide of former Uttarakhand chief minster Vijay Bahuguna, Uniyal, along with seven other Congress MLAs (including Bahuguna) had revolted against the Harish Rawat-led government in the Uttarakhand Assembly last year. The move brought the state under President’s Rule. Later, Uniyal crossed over to the BJP along with all the Congress “rebels”.

Arvind Pandey

The 45-year-old BJP leader is an MLA from the Gadarpur seat. In 2002 and 2007 he was the MLA from the Bajpur seat, and in the 2012 polls he had won the Gadarpur seat for the BJP.

Rekha Arya (Minister of State)

The 38-year-old BJP MLA from Someshwar is a former Congress “rebel” MLA, who had crossed over to the BJP after siding with the party and standing against outgoing chief minister Harish Rawat last year. She had previously won the state Assembly by-polls from the Someshwar seat in 2014.

Dhan Singh Rawat (Minister of State)

Dhan Singh Rawat is MLA from Srinagar and lost his seat in 2012. Narendra Modi’s rally in Srinagar inclined the voters in favour of Dhan Singh Rawat.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Mar 18, 2017 22:02:45 IST

Also See