Tripura: Several TMC leaders, 720 voters join BJP ahead of Assembly election

Agartala: The Trinamool Congress (TMC) Tripura unit's founder chairman and incumbent vice-president Arun Chandra Bhowmik and other leaders have joined the BJP, the BJP said on Saturday.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

"At a public rally in Belonia (in southern Tripura) on Friday, TMC leaders Bhowmik, Arjun Sarkar and Badal Sarkar along with 720 voters of other parties joined the BJP," BJP's Tripura unit media-in-charge Victor Shom said in a press release.

He said that local Congress leader Rajeswar Sen also joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Bhowmik, a veteran lawyer, said only the BJP can oust the ruling Left Front from power in the state Assembly election due in February next year.

Several TMC and Congress leaders besides scores of party workers had earlier joined the BJP.

State BJP president Biplab Kumar Deb, who addressed a public rally in Belonia, said his party would contest the Assembly election alone and field candidates in all 60 assembly seats.

"We have engaged a private agency to study about the prospective candidates for next year's election. We would put up those people as BJP candidates who would have the maximum chance of winning. No favoritism would be done in selecting the best candidates," Deb told reporters.

The BJP has given utmost emphasis to defeat the ruling Left Front in Tripura.

"To strengthen the BJP's political base in Left-ruled Tripura, over 45 Central ministers and many Central BJP leaders have visited the state during the past three years. Besides scores of BJP MPs, Assam chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal, finance, health and family welfare and education minister Himanta Biswa Sarma and several other ministers of Assam campaigned for the party in the state (Tripura)," a BJP leader said.

Sarma, who is also convener of the BJP-led North East Democratic Alliance (NEDA), has been holding talks with several tribal parties in Tripura to support the party in the assembly election next year, he said.

Updated Date: Jun 17, 2017 15:28 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See