associate sponsors


Tripura Assembly Election 2018: BJP announces names of six more candidates for 18 February polls

New Delhi: The BJP on Sunday announced the names of six more candidates for elections to the 60-member Tripura Assembly.

Ratan Chakravarty, Arun Bhaumik, Ramu Paul, Baharul Islam, Atul Debbarma and Jadhavlal Nath will contest from Khayerpur, Kamlasagar, Suryamaninagar, Boxanagar, Krishnapur and Jubarajnagar respectively, it said in a statement.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

The state will go to polls on 18 February.

The party had on Saturday declared names of 44 candidates.

It has said it will fields its candidates on 51 seats, leaving the remaining nine for its ally Indigenous People's Front of Tripura (IPFT), which claims to represent the state's tribal population.

The BJP has emerged as the main challenger to the ruling Left, which has been in power in the state for 25 years.

Updated Date: Jan 28, 2018 19:51 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See