Tripura Assembly Election 2018: 11% voting registered in first two hours, EVM glitches delay polling in few places

Agartala: About 11 per cent of Tripura's electorate had cast their vote within the first two hours in the state Assembly elections which began at 7 am on Sunday, Additional Chief Electoral Officer Tapas Roy said.

Elections are being held in 59 out of the state's 60 Assembly constituencies. The election in Charilam constituency was postponed following the death six days ago of CPM candidate Ramendra Narayan Debbarma.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

No incidents of violence had been reported from anywhere in the state, officials said.

The voting process, however, got delayed in some booths of West Tripura, Khowai, Unakoti districts as election workers could not connect the EVMs or electronic voting machines, he said.

"Engineers rushed to the booths and put everything in order," he added.

BJP leader Sudip Roy Burman and ruling CPM leader Krishna Majumder, both candidates from the Agartala constituency, had earlier in the day claimed that voting in a few polling stations in the state capital were held up for more than 90 minutes because of EVM glitches.

Roy refuted the claims and said all voting machines were working.

State Director General of Police Akhil Kumar Shukla said security measures had been put in place across Tripura for the Assembly polls.

The BSF has been asked to keep a close vigil on the 856-kilometre-long India-Bangladesh border in Tripura and 300 companies of central armed forces along with state armed personnel and police have been deployed across the state to ensure free and fair polls, he added.

Tripura Chief Electoral Officer Sriram Taranikanti said the Election Commission has appointed police observers, general observers and expenditure observers to oversee the entire poll process.

Click here to follow LIVE updates on Tripura Assembly Election 2018

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Feb 18, 2018 12:28:21 IST

Also See