Timeline: As BJP set to win, here's a look at the past Chief Ministers of Haryana

The early trends of the Haryana election results show that the BJP will make history in the state by winning the polls. This will be the first election in which BJP has contested on its own in the state and with this victory, it will be a major boost for the party and a massive win since the recent 2014 Lok Sabha election.

Haryana was carved out as a separate state from unified Punjab on 1 November, 1966 and has a total of 90 seats in the assembly. According to the latest numbers, BJP has won one seat and is leading on 49 seats. INLD is leading in 16 seats, while Congress has won 1 seat and is leading in a mere 12. As far as the numbers show, BJP is well ahead of the clear majority mark required in the state.

So which parties have ruled the state of Haryana, since the time it was created? Our interactive timeline on top takes a look at just that.

The first chief minister of Haryana was Congress leader Bhagwat Dayal Sharma who was CM from 1966-1967. The Congress has seen seven chief ministers in the state with the most recent being, Bhupinder Singh Hooda who ruled the state for three consecutive terms from 2005 to 2014.

 Timeline: As BJP set to win, heres a look at the past Chief Ministers of Haryana

Bhupinder Hooda in this file photo. IBN Live

But now with the BJP win, Hooda and Congress' run in the state have come to an end. As far as the BJP CM candidate is concerned, as Firstpost's Senior Editor Sanjay Singh had argued in this piece naming the new CM will be a tough choice for the Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who was the star campaigner for his party.

We had also pointed out that the two most talked about CM contenders Captain Abhimanyu and Ram Vilas Sharma faced a very tough challenge from their rival candidates in their respective constituencies. There were also speculations that Sushma Swaraj was a possible contender but that has been rubbished by others in the party.

While we wait to know the next Haryana CM, it is clear that BJP has scripted history in the state with its massive win.

Updated Date: Oct 19, 2014 11:59:09 IST