TDP nominates CM Ramesh and Varla Ramaiah for Rajya Sabha election in Telangana

Hyderabad: The ruling Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh has finalised its two nominees for the Rajya Sabha election.

Sitting MP (Rajya Sabha) CM Ramesh will be re-nominated in the general quota and senior TDP leader Varla Ramaiah has been nominated from the Dalit community.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Party president and Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu had held consultations with the party's second rung leaders for three days before taking the final decision.

Beeda Mastan Rao, another senior leader tried his best for nomination to the Rajya Sabha till the last minute but withdrew after Naidu reportedly assured him of importance in the Assembly elections.

Initially, the TDP thought of fielding three candidates in the fray for the Rajya Sabha polls.

However, in view of the changed political scenario following its withdrawal of two ministers from the Narendra Modi-led cabinet, the TDP settled for two.

With this, the elections in Andhra Pradesh may be unanimous.

Updated Date: Mar 11, 2018 15:39 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See