Tamil Nadu polls: DMK list of 173 nominees out; Stalin runs from Kolathur, Karunanidhi from Tiruvarur

Chennai: On Wednesday DMK released its list of candidates for 173 constituencies giving opportunity to new faces, a host of former MLAs and Ministers with party treasurer M K Stalin seeking re-election from Kolathur.

DMK had already announced that its chief Karunanidhi will contest from Tiruvarur again and the party is on the field in a total of 173 constituencies giving away the rest of sixty one to allies.

Stalin, who had held a series of voter-connect programmes in Kolathur will try his luck again from the same seat.

Simla Muthu Chozhan, a new face, will be the party nominee who will take on Jayalalithaa in RK Nagar.

Former Assembly Speaker Avudayappan (Ambasamudram) and Deputy Speaker V P Duraisamy (Rasipuram SC) feature on the list.


Notable members on the list are former Ministers Duraimurugan (Katpadi), E V Velu (Tiruvannamalai), and K Ponmudi (Thirukovilur).

Former ministers who have gotten the opportunity are K N Nehru (Tiruchirapalli North), M R K Panneerselvam (Kurinjipadi), K R Periyakaruppan (Thiruppathur), Thangam Thennarasu (Thiruchuzhi), Geetha Jeevan (Tuticorin), Poongothai Aladi Aruna (Alangulam), Suresh Rajan (Nagercoil), and MP Swaminathan.

Former Chennai Mayor Subramanian will contest from Saidapet.

Former MLAs include K K S S R Ramachandran (Aruppukottai), Anitha R Radhakrishnan (Thiruchendur), and son of former Union Minister TR Balu, TRB Raja.

P K Sekar Babu, who joined DMK from AIADMK is nominated as party candidate in Harbour.

The party has given opportunity to many new faces.

In the DMK led front, DMK contests 173 seats, Congress 41, Makkal DMDK three, Indian Union Muslim League five, Manithaneya Makkal Katchi five seats, Puthiya Thamizhagam four, and one seat each to three other smaller outfits.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 18, 2016 17:50:33 IST

Also See