Tamil Nadu polls: CPM renominates MLAs for Assembly election, releases nominees list

Chennai: CPM, a constituent of the DMDK-PWF combine, on Monday released its list of candidates for 25 constituencies, giving tickets to seven of the 10 sitting MLAs.

Party floor leader in the outgoing 14th Assembly, A Soundararajan, will seek re-election from Perambur in Chennai, while his colleague and sitting legislator K Balakrishnan will contest again from Chidambaram in Cuddalore District.



Similarly, sitting MLAs K Thangavel will fight again from Tirupur South, A Lazar from Periyakulam (Reserved), and K Bheem Rao from Maduravoyal, V P Nagai Mali from Keezhvelur (Reserved) and R Ramamurthy from Vikkravandi.

Party sources said three time MLA K Balabarathy, who has represented Dindigul since 2001 in the Assembly, has not been given ticket as she was provided the opportunity thrice before. According to party norms, only twice could a party worker be given an opportunity to become an MLA.

However, as an exception she had three chances, sources added. Sitting MLA from Madurai South R Annadurai could not be given a ticket as the seat went to its alliance partner.

In Puducherry, L Kalivaradan has been named nominee for Tirubuvanai-Reserved seat. In TR Pattinam, Lazpet, and Bagur, Mohammed Thameem Ansari, A Anand and P Sivagami will be the party nominees respectively.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 18, 2016 15:21:11 IST

Also See