Tamil Nadu polls: AIADMK's Jayalalithaa revises candidate list, replaces eight seats

Chennai: Making yet another revision to her party candidates' list for the May 16 Assembly polls in Tamil
Nadu, AIADMK supremo J Jayalalithaa on Monday replaced eight candidates, fielding three ministers and a former cabinet colleague who had not been named earlier.

Ministers for Higher Education, Rural Industries and Tourism, P Palaniappan, R Mohan and SP Shanmuganathan made their way into the latest list announced by Jayalalithaa.

A file photo of Jayalalithaa. PTI

A file photo of Jayalalithaa. PTI

Palaniappan will contest from Pappireddypatti, replacing GS Kuppusamy, while Mohan has been named from Sankarapuram Assembly segment in place of ASA Rajasekar.

Shanmuganathan has been fielded from Srivaikuntam seat in place of M Bhuvaneswaran, according to a statement from Jayalalithaa.

Former Minister KV Ramalingam is the party's choice for Erode (West) while sitting MLA of Arakkonam (SC) constituency, S Ravi, has replaced Ko Si Manivannan.

The AIADMK supremo replaced Kovilpatti constituency candidate K Ramanujam Ganesh with sitting MLA Kadambur Raju.

MDMK founder and People's Welfare Front (PWF) Coordinator Vaiko is fighting from Kovilpatti in the polls.

Updated Date: Apr 18, 2016 20:10 PM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See