Tamil Nadu by-polls: AIADMK retains Thanjavur, defeats DMK by 25,000 votes

Chennai: AIADMK on Tuesday retained the Thanjavur Assembly constituency by a margin of over 25,000 votes and was surging ahead in two other segments in Tamil Nadu.

Representational image. AFP

Representational image. AFP

In Thanjavur, AIADMK candidate M Rengasamy won by a comfortable margin of over 25,000 votes against DMK candidate Anjugham Boopathy.

At the end of the 20th and final round, Rengasamy secured 1,01,362 votes, while Boopathy polled 74,488 votes out of the total 1,86,444 votes.

In Aravakkurichi, AIADMK's V Senthil Balaji was leading by a good margin over his nearest DMK rival KC Palanisamy.

What began as a margin of nearly 2,000 votes at the end of the first round, went on to widen by the ninth round for Balaji, with the AIADMK candidate leading by a margin of over 13,000 votes.

Balaji is leading by a margin of 18,506 votes at the end of 11th round out of the total scheduled 18 rounds.

In Thirupparankundram Assembly segment, AIADMK candidate AK Bose was ahead by a comfortable margin over his nearest rival, DMK candidate P Saravanan.

Bose was leading by 34,345 votes at the end of 17th round out of the total of 18 rounds, the counting for which is expected to complete shortly.

Updated Date: Nov 22, 2016 15:17 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See