Sponsored by

Jayalalithaa, Karunanidhi file nominations for 16 May Tamil Nadu Assembly polls

The political temperature in poll-bound Tamil Nadu is expected to go up several notches as Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa and DMK president M Karunanidhi filed their nominations on Monday.

Jayalalithaa filed her nomination from R K Nagar, where she is a sitting MLA. Hundreds of enthusiastic party workers and people greeted her en route to the electoral office before she filed her nomination.

Karunanidhi filed nomination from his native Tiruvarur, a constituency he is representing for the consecutive term in the 234-member state assembly. Nominations will close on 29 April.

Banking on her government's five year achievements in various sectors, including social welfare and infrastructure, Jayalalithaa is leading the charge of her party workers even as she eyes a successive term.

 Jayalalithaa, Karunanidhi file nominations for 16 May Tamil Nadu Assembly polls

A file photo of Jayalalithaa. Reuters

The leader has also been sharply critical of DMK, targeting it on issues like family rule, inter-state river disputes and law and order.

Braving age and related health issues, the 93-year-old leader hit the campaign trail on Saturday, hitting out at the Jayalalithaa government while billing his party as the right alternative.

DMK Treasurer MK Stalin will file his nomination for his Kolathur constituency on 27 April. DMDK leader Vijayakant and MDMK founder Vaiko are also scheduled to follow suit this week, tentatively on the same day.

Vijayakant and Vaiko are contesting from Ulunthoorpet and Kovilpatti, respectively.

DMDK has aligned with Vaiko-led People's Welfare Front (PWF) for the elections.

Meanwhile, top leaders of BJP and Congress from Delhi, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Sonia Gandhi, are slated to address election rallies in the state in May. Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi will also undertake campaign with his party striving to put up a good show in alliance with DMK.

The party had won five seats in the 2011 Assembly polls as part of the DMK alliance. Top left leaders such as Sitaram Yechury of CPM and B Sudhakar Reddy (CPI) are also expected to address election rallies in May.

With inputs from PTI

Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on firstpost.com/elections. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: May 18, 2016 17:46:11 IST

Also See