Show of Opposition unity as Hemant Soren takes oath as Jharkhand chief minister; Narendra Modi, Rahul Gandhi congratulate JMM leader

  • Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) working president Hemant Soren was sworn-in as the 11th Chief Minister of Jharkhand in Ranchi on Sunday.

  • In a show of Opposition strength, Chief Ministers Ashok Gehlot, Bhupesh Baghel and Mamata Banerjee, Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, and LJD leader Sharad Yadav were among those who attended the event.

  • Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate Soren and assured all help for Jharkhand's development.

Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) leader Hemant Soren took oath as the state's chief minister on Sunday at a grand ceremony attended by a galaxy of Opposition leaders. This is the second time that Soren has become the chief minister of the state.

The 44-year-old tribal leader was sworn in as the 11th chief minister of the state by Governor Droupadi Murmu. Among those in attendance were Congress leader Rahul Gandhi, Trinamool Congress (TMC) chief and West Bengal chief minister Mamata Banerjee, her Rajasthan and Chhattisgarh counterparts Ashok Gehlot and Bhupesh Baghel, Communist Party of India (Marxist) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, DMK leader MK Stalin, his sister Kanimozhi, and Rashtriya Janata Dal's Tejashwi Yadav.

Former Assembly speaker and Congress leader Alamgir Alam, Jharkhand PCC president Rameshwar Oraon and RJD MLA Satyanand Bhokta were the other three ministers who took oath after Soren.Earlier, Soren was deputy chief minister from 2010 to early 2013, and the chief minister from July 2013 to December 2014.Alam and Oraon are first-time ministers, while Bhokta had been the agriculture minister in the BJP-led NDA governments between 2000 and 2005, before joining the RJD.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi took to Twitter to congratulate Soren and assured all help for Jharkhand's development.

Congress leader Rahul Gandhi who attended the swearing-in ceremony at Ranchi's Mohrabadi Ground, expressed confidence in the newly-elected coalition government.

Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal also congratulated Soren.

Janata Dal (Secular) national president HD Deve Gowda congratulated Soren and expressed confidence that he would ensure efficient governance in the state.

DMK chief MK Stalin commented on the necessity for "unity among secular parties" and wished the new government a successful tenure.

In the just-conducted Assembly elections, the JMM- Congress-RJD alliance triumphed over the BJP, winning 47 seats in the 81-member House. Four other MLAs — three from the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) and one from the Communist Party of India (Marxist-Leninist) — have also extended support to the three-party coalition.

With inputs from PTI

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Dec 30, 2019 00:02:58 IST