Secunderabad Lok Sabha Election Result 2019 LIVE updates: G Kishan Reddy of BJP wins

Secunderabad Lok Sabha Constituency

Constituency number: 8

Total electors: 1,893,741 (2014 estimates)

Female electors: 4,57,397

Male electors: 5,46,289

Reserved: No

Delimited: No

Assembly Constituencies: Jubilee Hills, Amberpet, Nampally, Musheerabad, Secunderabad, Khairatabad, Sanathnagar

Results in last four Lok Sabha elections: In 1999, BJP’s Bandaru Dattatraya won the general elections from this constituency. Congress party’s M Anjan Kumar Yadav won the election in 2004 and 2009. In 2014, however, Yadav lost the seat to Dattatraya.

Demographics: This constituency is the only BJP seat in Telangana. Coming under the Hyderabad Metropolitan Region, Secunderabad has a population of 2,17,910, according to the 2011 Census. Primarily an urban constituency, it has a fair number of Muslim voters -- 12.19 percent of the total population. With former Union minister for labour Bandaru Dattatraya not participating in the race this time, BJP is looking for a fresh face. Meanwhile both Anjan Kumar Yadav and former cricketer Mohammad Azharuddin have thrown their hats into the race for a Congress party ticket.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 22:20:10 IST