SC judgement on MPs, MLAs: Who are the petitioners Lok Prahari?

A petition filed by a Lucknow-based NGO Lok Prahari with lawyer Lily Thomas in the Supreme Court challenging provisions of the Representation of the People Act today resulted in the apex court striking down that norm effecting far reaching consequences in the political field.

But what is known about the NGO Lok Prahari?

As per their website, registered in 2003 in Lucknow as an NGO, Lok Prahari had filed the writ petition through its general secretary SN Shukla—Challenging the Constitutional validity of Section 8 (4) of the Representation of the People Act 1951—in 2005.

 SC judgement on MPs, MLAs: Who are the petitioners Lok Prahari?

The Lok Prahari logo. Image courtesy Lok Prahari

In a nutshell, the Supreme Court judgement now bars any convicted person to vote or participate in polls or even continue in office either as a legislator or parliamentarian. However, the provisions of the judgement won't be implemented in retrospect, so existing legislators are safe.

The 20-member Lok Prahari consists of retired bureaucrats, police personnel, professors and people from other fields including the judiciary. According to the website of the organisation, Lok Prahari has 10 founder members while the rest joined later.

Former chief election commissioner and Gujarat governor RK Trivedi is the chief patron of Lok Prahari while former DGP and chairman UPPSC JN Chaturvedi and retired Allahabad High Court judge SN Sahai are patrons of the organisation.

Former member, Board of Revenue, Uttar Pradesh NM Majmudar is the president of Lok Prahari while retired secretary general, Rajya Sabha RC Tripathi is the vice president of the NGO. Former chairman Board of Revenue S Venkatramani also functions as vice president.

The complete list of Lok Prahari members:

1. RK Trivedi
Former Chief Election Commissioner
Former Governor of Gujarat State
Chief Patron

2. JN Chaturvedi
Former DGP & Chairman UPPSC

3. SN Sahai
Former Judge High Court, Allahabad

4. NM Majmudar
Former Member Board of Revenue, UP

5. S Venkatramani
Former chairman Board of Revenue

6. RC Tripathi
Former Secretary General, Rajya Sabha

7. SN Shukla
IAS, (Retd.), Advocate
General Secretary

8. PC Sharma
IAS, (Retd.)

9. PD Chaturvedi
IAS (Retd.)

10. IC Dwivedi
Former DGP, Uttar Pradesh

11. M Subhramanyam
IAS (Retd.)

12. AK Das
IAS (Retd.)

13. SAT Rizvi
IAS (Retd.)

14. SK Agnihotri
IAS (Retd.)

15. Anirudh Mithal
Former GM, Railways

16. GD Mehrotra
IAS (Retd.)

17. UPS Kushwaha
Former District Judge

18. Harinder Paintal
Former Professor, Lucknow University

19. RP Singh

20. VVB Mishra

Updated Date: Jul 10, 2013 17:55:59 IST