associate sponsors


Samajwadi Party MLC Ashok Bajpai resigns, says 'peeved at the treatment' given to Mulayam Singh Yadav

Lucknow: Samajwadi Party (SP) MLC Ashok Bajpai on Wednesday resigned from the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council, taking the number of party MLCs who have quit recently to four.

Three of the SP MLCs, who had resigned, have alread joined the BJP and he is also expected to follow suit, source said.

File photo of Samajwadi Party office. News18

File photo of Samajwadi Party office. News18

"I am tendering my resignation from the Counci membership. I am peeved at the treatment meted to 'Netaji (Mulayam Singh Yadav) in the party," Bajpai told reporter after giving his resignation to Council Chairman Ramesh Yadav.

On 4 August, SP MLC Dr Sarojini Agarwal resigned from the Legislative Council membership and joined the BJP.

On the reasons of her resignation, she had said she wa not feeling comfortable in the party as Mulayam was not give any importance.

"I had been party MLC twice due to netaji (Mulayam Sing Yadav). As he is not active in the party, I have resigned. don't have problems with anyone in the party and I respect everyone. I felt awkward after split in the party and I did not feel like working in it," Agarwal had said.

Earlier on 29 July during BJP President Amit Shah's visit to the state capital, two SP and one BSP MLCs had resigned an joined BJP.

Three sitting MLCs Bukkal Nawab and Yashwant Singh (bot Samajwadi Party) and Thakur Jaiveer Singh (BSP) had resigne from the membership of the House.

The resignation of five MLCs including (four of the S and one BSP) assumes significance as the saffron party is soon to take a decision on five of its ministers in Uttar Pradesh, including Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who are no members of either of the two Houses.

Besides Adityanath, deputy chief Ministers Kesha Prasad Maurya and Dinesh Sharma, ministers Swatantra Dev Singh and Mohsin Raza are not members of either of the two Houses.

They have to be elected to either of the House (assembly or legislative Council) in order to continue as ministers.

With the resignations in Council, the entry of thes leaders in the House is considered to be an easy task.

Updated Date: Aug 09, 2017 14:22 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See