Rajya Sabha: BJP chief Amit Shah, Union minister Smriti Irani take oath as MPs

New Delhi: BJP chief Amit Shah and Union minister Smriti Irani took oath as Rajya Sabha members on Friday.

File image of BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

File image of BJP chief Amit Shah. PTI

Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu administered the oath to Shah and Irani in his chamber.

Shah is making his debut in Parliament. Both were elected to the upper house from Gujarat earlier this month. Prior to becoming an MP, Shah was a five-term MLA in Gujarat.

They were accompanied by Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar, Finance Minister Arun Jaitley and Law Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad among others.

Updated Date: Aug 25, 2017 13:03 PM

Also See