Rajinder Nagar Election Result 2020 LIVE Updates | Delhi Assembly Elections; Constituency, Party, Candidate Name Wise Winner, Loser, Leading, Trailing

Election Result 2020 LIVE | Candidate, Constituency and Party-Wise Winner List

AAP WON Raghav Chadha 59,135 Votes 57.06% Votes
BJP Sardar RP Singh 39,077 Votes 37.7% Votes
INC Rocky Tuseed 3,941 Votes 3.8% Votes
BSNP Shashi Raj 155 Votes 0.15% Votes
PJPS Satendra Narayan Singh 486 Votes 0.47% Votes
BSP Jagdish 382 Votes 0.37% Votes

Delhi Assembly Election 2020, Rajinder Nagar Profile | The Aam Aadmi Party's Raghav Chadha has won the election from the Rajinder Nagar constituency against the Bharatiya Janata Party's Sardar RP Singh by a margin of 20,058 votes.

Rajinder Nagar is part of the New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. A Punjabi-dominated area, Rajinder Nagar saw a triangular contest as AAP replaced its sitting MLA Vijender Garg to field a more popular face, Raghav Chadha, who lost the 2019 Lok Sabha polls to BJP's Ramesh Bidhuri from South Delhi seat. Chadha, a Punabi will take on veteran BJP leader from the Sikh community, RP Singh and Congress' student leader from Jat community, Rocky Tuseed, who was president of Delhi University Students' Union in 2017 and ended the five-year-drought for the Congress-affiliated National Students Union of India.

Here is a brief profile of Rajinder Nagar constituency:

Constituency Name: Rajinder Nagar
Constituency Number: 39
District Name: Central Delhi
Total Electors: 182530
Female Electors: 78227
Male Electors: 104294
Third Gender: 9
Reserved: No

Results in previous elections: Sitting AAP MLA Vijender Garg had won the 2015 Delhi polls with over 54 percent votes and 20,000 votes against BJP veteran RP Singh in 2015. But the party has replaced him with Chadha, perhaps sensing the need to field a stronger candidate. Garg, meanwhile, let his grouse known and claimed that he was "sacrificed to oblige a big name in the party"

Before Garg claimed the seat for AAP in 2015, it was primarily a BJP bastion. Singh had won the seat in 2013 elections, before losing out to Chadha in mid-term polls. Before him, Puran Chand Yogi, a veteran BJP leader, represented the seat from 1993 until his demise in 2008. Congress has held this seat only once in 2008 when Rama Kant Goswami won the seat after BJP fielded Yogi's wife Asha at the last minute, after he committed suicide.

Demographics: Largely an upper-middle-class locality, Rajinder Nagar is dominated by Punjabis as thousands of displaced families were settled in this area after the Partition. Rajinder Nagar also has a significant population of SC and OBC voters. SCs and OBCs together form at least 40 percent of the population in the constituency, however, various caste dynamics within themselves has kept the community from voting as a cohesive unit. In fact, this is one of the constituencies the Mayawati-led BSP has been trying to win since 2008. Rajinder Nagar also has a Jat-dominated pocket, Dasghara and a Yadav-dominated locality, Todapur within its bounds. However, over the years, it has seen a sharp demographic shift . In recent years, the demography in areas such as Inderpuri, Naraina Vihar and Pandav Nagar has again changed to with a substantial number of Purvanchali migrants moving to the area.

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.

Updated Date: Feb 11, 2020 15:48:05 IST