Rajasthan local body by-elections: BJP wins 13 out of 27 seats across 17 districts

Jaipur: The BJP on Thursday won 13 seats out of total 27 in Rajasthan local body by-elections. The by-elections were conducted on one seat of zila parishad, 17 seats of panchayat samitis and 9 seats of nagar palika/parishad in 17 districts of the state.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

As per the results announced on Thursday, the BJP won 11 seats of panchayat samitis and two seats of nagar palika.  The Congress got victory over 11 seats in the by-polls. It retained the seat (ward 8) of zila parishad in Sawaimadhopur. Its candidate Lokesh defeated nearest rival Kamal of the BJP with a margin of 358 votes.

The Opposition party also won five seats of panchayat samitis and as many seats of nagar palika/parishad. Independent candidates also won one panchayat samiti seat and one nagar palika seat.

BJP state general secretary Bhajan Lal Sharma said that the people have once again showed faith in the party. Meanwhile, PCC president Sachin Pilot said that urban voters have given their mandate against the BJP.

People have rejected BJP due to its anti-people policies, he said.

Updated Date: Jun 14, 2018 22:25 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See