Rajasthan bypolls: BJP, Congress announce candidates for Alwar, Ajmer and Mandalgarh; by-election to be held on 29 Jan

Jaipur: The ruling BJP and Opposition Congress in Rajasthan on Sunday announced their candidates for the 29 January by-polls to the Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats and the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency.

The BJP fielded labour minister Jaswant Singh Yadav and former Union minister Sanwar Lal Jat’s son Ramswaroop Lamba for the by-polls to the Alwar and Ajmer Lok Sabha seats respectively.

Shakti Singh Hada is the BJP's choice for the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency.

The bypolls to all the three seats will be held on 29 January.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

The Congress announced Vivek Dhakad will be its candidate for the by-poll to the Mandalgarh Assembly constituency. Former MLA Raghu Sharma will be its nominee for the Ajmer Lok Sabha seat.

The Congress has already named Karan Singh Yadav, a former MP, as its candidate for the by-election to the Alwar Lok Sabha seat.

The by-polls have been necessitated following the death of Ajmer MP Sanwar Lal Jat, Alwar MP Chand Nath and Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari.

Sanwar Lal Jat had defeated Pradesh Congress Committee chief Sachin Pilot by 1,71,983 votes in the 2014 general elections.

Jat had in July last year suffered a cardiac arrest during a BJP meeting in Jaipur chaired by party chief Amit Shah. He died on 9 August.

Mahant Chand Nath had died in September after a prolonged illness.

He had defeated Congress candidate and former Union minister Bhanwar Jitendra Singh by 2,83,895 votes.

Mandalgarh MLA Kirti Kumari had died in August.

Updated Date: Jan 08, 2018 07:30 AM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See