Puducherry polls: 10 candidates file nominations for Assembly election

Puducherry: V John Kumar of Congress and CPI(M)'s Mohammad Tamim Ansari were among 10 candidates who filed their nominations today for the May 16 Puducherry Assembly Elections.


While John Kumar filed his nominations to contest from the Nellithope constituency, Ansari filed his papers for Neravy T R Pattinam constituency, District Election Officer P Jawahar said.

Others who filed nomination papers were either independent candidates or members of smaller parties, he said.

So far 52 candidates have filed nominations in the Union Territory.

Last date for filing nominations is 29 April.

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to Firstpost.com/Whatsapp and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: Apr 26, 2016 22:40:12 IST

Also See