Puducherry poll results: Congress-DMK alliance cruises to victory

Puducherry: Pushing behind ruling AINRC, Congress-DMK combine on Thursday appeared to be cruising to victory winning 13 of the 30 constituencies in the assembly elections following which the alliance will form the next government in Puducherry.

With results of 25 constituencies declared, Congress won 12 seats and was leading in three others while DMK bagged one seat and ahead in another as the alliance looked set for a comfortable majority.

Representational image. AFP.

Representational image. AFP.

After an initial close fight, AINRC managed to win only eight seats, including the Indira Nagar constituency by party founder and Chief Minister N Rangasamy.

AIADMK, which fought the elections on its own, won three seats while an independent emerged the victor in one constituency. AIADMK was also leading in another seat.

Prominent among the succesful Congress candidates were former chief minister and leader of the opposition in the outgoing assembly V Vaithilingam (Kamaraj Nagar), Pradesh Congress Commitee President A Namassivayam (Villianur).

In Karaikal South constituency, five-time DMK MLA AMH Nazeem lost to AIADMK's KAU Asana by a slender margin of 20 votes.

Congress heavyweight E Valsaraj lost to independent V Ramachandran in Mahe.

In a neck and neck race, ruling AINRC and Congress won six seats each in the 30-member
Puducherry Assembly.

AIADMK, which contested the polls on its own, bagged two seats.


Chief Minister N Rangasamy, who led AINRC to victory in the 2011 election after breaking away from Congress, won from Indira Nagar constituency defeating V Aroumougam of Congress by 3,404 votes.

AINRC also won from Kadirgamam (NSJ Jayabal), Karaikal North (PRN Thirumurugan), Mangalam (SV Sugumaran), Mannadipet (TPR Selvame) and Nedungadu (Chandirapriyanga).

Congress candidates were elected from Kamaraj Nagar (V Vaithithilingam), Nellithope (John Kumar), Yanam (Malladi Krishna Rao), Lawspet (VP Sivakolundhu), Embalam (M Candassmy) and T Djeamourthy (Ariyankuppam).

AIADMK candidates bagged Oupalam (A Anbalagan) and Muthialpet (Vaiyapuri Manikandan) seats.

Updated Date: May 19, 2016 16:21 PM

Also Watch

Watch: Firstpost test rides the new Thunderbird 500X in Goa and walks you through the Royal Enfield Garage Cafe
  • Tuesday, April 17, 2018 Varun Dhawan on Shoojit Sircar's October, 5-star reviews and working with Anushka Sharma in Sui Dhaaga
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018 Ambedkar Jayanti: Re-visiting Babasaheb's ideals exposes fake Dalit politics of Rahul Gandhi and Congress
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See