Presidential Election 2017: Yogi Adityanath, Uma Bharti cast ballot, confident of Ram Nath Kovind's win

Lucknow: Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya and Union minister Uma Bharti were among those who cast their votes for the presidential poll in Lucknow on Monday.

The voting began at 10 am at the Tilak Hall in the Assembly complex.

After casting his vote, the chief minister told reporters that NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind will win the election with a huge margin.

Yogi Adityanath, Chief Minister of India's most populous state of Uttar Pradesh, holds a traditional lamp as he performs prayers called "Aarti" on the banks of river Sarayu in Ayodhya, India, May 31, 2017. REUTERS/Pawan Kumar - RTX38BJC

File image of Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Reuters

"This is a matter of pride for the people of Uttar Pradesh, the son of the state is going to become the President," he said.

Both Adityanath and Maurya have not yet resigned from the Lok Sabha and are voters as MPs.

Samajwadi Party leader and MLA Shivpal Singh Yadav said he voted for Kovind.

"My open support is for Kovindji, who belongs to Kanpur and is our neighbour," he told reporters, adding, "Meira Kumar did not seek vote from him and he voted on directions of 'netaji' (Mulayam Singh Yadav)".

Nirbal Indian Shoshit Hamara Aam Dal (NISHAD) lone legislator Vijay Mishra told reporters that he supported Kovind.

After casting her vote, Union minister Uma Bharti said, "Kovind is winnig elections for sure and the margin will be huge."

After the conclusion of voting at 5 pm, the ballot boxes will be sealed and sent to Delhi.

Prominent among those who voted included ministers in Adityanath's government: Srikant Sharma, Sidharth Nath Singh, Swami Prasad Maurya and Suresh Khanna among others.

The NDA has fielded former Bihar governor Kovind for the top constitutional post, while former Lok Sabha speaker Meira Kumar is the joint opposition candidate.

Counting of votes will take place on 20 July in New Delhi where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals.

The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee ends on 24 July.

Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 16:24 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See