associate sponsors


Presidential Election 2017: Voting concludes in Rajasthan Assembly; 199 out of 200 MLAs cast vote

Jaipur: Voting to elect the next President of India concluded in the Rajasthan Assembly on Monday, with 199 legislators out of 200 exercising their franchise.

Representational image. Reuters

Representational image. Reuters

Former chief minister Ashok Gehlot cast his vote in Gujarat.

Polling for presidential elections commenced at 10 am and concluded at 2.15 pm with all 199 legislators exercising their franchise, an assembly spokesperson said.

The Rajasthan Assembly has 200 MLAs. BJP has 161 MLAs, Congress 24, four of NPP, two each of Zamindara Party and BSP, and seven independent.

The NDA has fielded former Bihar governor Ram Nath Kovind for the top constitutional post, while former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is the candidate of the joint opposition.

Counting of votes will take place on 20 July in New Delhi where all the ballot boxes will be brought from various state capitals.

The tenure of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee ends on 24 July.

Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 15:56 PM

Also Watch

Firstpost in Russia: Moscow to St. Petersburg, on a free World Cup train
  • Monday, July 2, 2018 Social Media Star: Richa Chadha, Kunal Kamra talk about their political views, and why they speak their mind
  • Tuesday, June 26, 2018 It's A Wrap: Swara Bhasker talks about Veere Di Wedding and Twitter trolls, in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Tuesday, June 19, 2018 Rahul Gandhi turns 48: Congress chief, who once said 'power is poison', should focus on party rather than on 'hate Modi' mission
  • Monday, June 4, 2018 It's A Wrap: Bhavesh Joshi Superhero makers Anurag Kashyap, Vikramaditya Motwane in conversation with Parul Sharma

Also See