associate sponsors


Presidential Election 2017: Voting begins in Tamil Nadu Assembly as E Palaniswami casts first vote

Chennai: Voting to elect the 14th President of the country began here on Monday with Tamil Nadu Chief Minister E Palaniswami casting his vote.

File images of Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar. PTI

File images of Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar. PTI

He was followed by Speaker P Dhanapal, DMK's MK Stalin, former chief minister O Panneerselvam and others.

Speaking to reporters after casting his vote Palaniswami said he cast the first vote to elect the next President.

Minister of state for road transport, highways and shipping Pon Radhakrishnan also cast his vote.

According to Radhakrishnan, the voting is progressing at a brisk pace.

Elected members of parliament (MP) and member of legislative Assemblies are eligible to vote in the presidential poll.

The fight is between Ram Nath Kovind, nominee of ruling National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and Meira Kumar nominee for the opposition parties.

President Pranab Mukherjee demits office on 25 July.


Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 11:20 AM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See