Presidential Election 2017 results: Palaniswamy, Panneerselvam express 'great joy' at Ram Nath Kovind's win

Chennai: Leaders of the two factions in the ruling AIADMK, Chief Minister K Palaniswamy and his predecessor O Panneerselvam, on Thursday greeted Ram Nath Kovind on his winning the presidential polls.

 Presidential Election 2017 results: Palaniswamy, Panneerselvam express great joy at Ram Nath Kovinds win

File image of Tamil Nadu chief minister Palaniswamy. PTI

Palaniswamy congratulated Kovind for his "resounding victory".

"I wish to convey to you my own felicitations and also those of the people of Tamil Nadu for a historic tenure in Rashtrapati Bhavan," he said in a letter to the NDA candidate.

Panneerselvam expressed "great joy" on Kovind winning the presidential polls.

"Having been elected as the first citizen of India, we wish Mr Ram Nath Kovind name and fame due to his skill and service," Panneerselvam said in a statement.

The rebel AIADMK leader also greeted Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP national president Amit Shah.

Both the Amma and Puratchi Thalaivi Amma factions of the ruling AIADMK, led by Palaniswami and Panneerselvam, respectively, had supported Kovind in the 17 July poll held to elect the president.

Updated Date: Jul 20, 2017 21:17:28 IST