associate sponsors


Presidential Election 2017 results: 522 MPs vote for Ram Nath Kovind, 225 for Meira Kumar

New Delhi: NDA nominee Ram Nath Kovind has got the votes of 522 Members of Parliament while opposition candidate Meira Kumar bagged the votes of 225 MPs in the presidential election, counting for which is underway in New Delhi. 771 elected MPs were eligible to cast their ballot.

After counting of votes from Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand, Kovind has so far bagged 1,389 votes (with a value of 4,79,585). Kumar, on the other hand, has gathered 576 votes (with a value of 2,04,594).

Returning officer Anoop Mishra announced that Kovind got the votes of 522 MPs (3,69,576 vote value), while Kumar managed 225 votes (1,59,300 vote value) of members of Parliament.

Close to 99 percent voting was recorded for electing India's next president.

File images of Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar. PTI

File images of Ram Nath Kovind and Meira Kumar. PTI

Thirty two polling stations, including the one in Parliament house, have been set up in the country. A total of 4,109 MLAs and 771 elected MPs were eligible to cast their ballot. While 4,083 MLAs voted, 768 MPs exercised their franchise.

The total value of votes for MPs stands at 5,49,408. For MLAs, the total vote value is 5,49,495. The total vote value is 10,98,903. A candidate needs 50 percent plus one vote to win the presidential poll. The half way mark is 5,49,452, but the actual halfway mark will be decided by the total number of valid votes polled.

While the value of an MLA's vote depends on the population of the state he or she belongs to, the value of an MP's vote remains the same at 708.

State-wise votes received by the two candidates: In Andhra Pradesh, Kovind got 171 votes (27,189 vote value) while Kumar got nil votes. Three votes were declared invalid.

In Arunachal Pradesh, Kovind got 56 votes (448 vote value) and Kumar got three (24 vote value).

In Assam, Kovind got 91 votes (10,556 vote value), while Kumar got 35 (4,060 vote value).

In Bihar, Kovind got 130 votes (22,490 vote value), Kumar got 109 (18,857 vote value).

In Chhattisgarh, Kovind got 52 votes (6,708 vote value), Kumar got 35 (4,515 vote value). Three votes were invalid.

In Goa, Kovind got 25 votes (500 vote value), while Kumar got 11 votes (220 vote value). Two votes were declared invalid.

In Gujarat, Kovind got 132 votes (vote value 19,404), Kumar got 49 votes (valued 7,203).

In Haryana, Kovind got 73 votes (valued at 8,176) and Kumar 16 (1,792 value). One vote was invalid.

In Himachal Pradesh, 30 votes went to Kovind (1,530 value), while Kumar got 37 (1,887 value).

In Jammu and Kashmir, 56 votes went to Kovind (4,032 value) and Kumar got 13 (2,160 value).

In Jharkhand, Kovind got 51 (8,976 value) and Kumar 26 (4,576 value). Four votes were invalid, Mishra said.

Updated Date: Jul 20, 2017 16:33 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See