Presidential Election 2017: BJP chief ministers to attend Ram Nath Kovind's nomination filing

New Delhi: Chief ministers of the states ruled by the BJP and its allies are likely to be present on 23 June when NDA pick Ram Nath Kovind file his nomination for the 17 July presidential election.

Besides Prime Minister Narendra Modi, virtually the entire council of union ministers, NDA chief ministers and MPs and MLAs from across the country will be among proposers and seconders of his candidature.

Kovind, who resigned as Bihar governor on Tuesday, is a Dalit leader and two-time Rajya Sabha member. He was picked as the ruling NDA's presidential nominee yesterday.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

Sources said union minister M Venkaiah Naidu spoke to NDA chief ministers and urged them to be present at the time of the filing of nomination by Kovind.

Naidu also spoke to Tamil Nadu Chief Minister EK Palaniswami and asked him to be present.

PDP chief and Jammu and Kashmir Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti assured him of the support of his party to Kovind.

Naidu also spoke to former Prime Minister and JD(S) leader HD Deve Gowda, DMK leader MK Stalin, PMK leader Anbumani Ramdoss and sought their support.

He met Om Prakash Chautala of INLD also, sources said.

He also spoke to Odisha Chief Minister Navin Patnaik, who has already announced his party's support to Kovind, and invited him to be present during the nomination-filing.

Updated Date: Jun 20, 2017 20:34 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See