Presidential Election 2017: All 81 MLAs in the Jharkhand Assembly cast votes in polls

Ranchi: All the 81 elected MLAs of Jharkhand Assembly on Monday cast their votes to elect the 14th president of the country.

The NDA polling agent at the Jharkhand Assembly polling station and urban development and transport minister CP Singh told media, all the 81 elected MLAs had exercised their franchise by 1.30 pm.

Singh said, polling began at 10 am as per schedule and he was among the early voters.

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

File image of Ram Nath Kovind. PTI

As per the strategy made at Chief Minister Raghubar Das’ residence on Sunday, most of the NDA MLAs and other legislators supporting the NDA candidate, arrived together at around 11 am to cast their votes.

The chief minister, all his cabinet colleagues and other MLAs of the NDA and its supporters exercised their franchise by 11.30 am.

Immediately after most of the NDA MLAs had cast their votes, most of the opposition MLAs, which included 19 MLAs of JMM, seven of Congress, two of Jharkhand Vikash Morcha (Prajatantrik), one each of CPI (ML-Liberation) and Marxist Coordination Committee reached the polling booth.

The opposition MLAs were led by former chief minister and leader of the opposition in the Assembly (of the JMM) Hemant Soren and JPCC president and Congress MLA Sukhdeo Bhagat, cast their votes by noon.

The JPCC president claimed that 30 MLAs, including 19 of JMM, seven of Congress, two of JVM (P) and one each of CPI (ML-Liberation) and Marxist Coordination Committee voted for Opposition candidate Meira Kumar.

BJP’s chief whip Radha Krishna Kishore claimed that a total of 49 MLAs including 43 MLAs of BJP, four of Ajsu party (NDA ally) and Gita Koda of Jai Bharat Samanta Party and Bhanu Pratap Sahi of Nau Jawan Sangharsh Morcha cast their votes in favour of NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind.

Kushwaha Shivpujan Mehta of BSP and Anosh Ekka of Jharkhand Party also cast their votes but did not reveal for whom they had voted.

CP Singh told newsmen that although the 81 elected MLAs had cast their vote by 1.30 pm, the ballot box will only be sealed at 5 pm as per the schedule as any of the MPs from the state may cast their vote at the Jharkhand Assembly polling station.

Jharkhand has 20 MPs, including six from the Rajya Sabha.

Updated Date: Jul 17, 2017 16:35 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See