Presidential Election 2017: 10-member Opposition group to meet on Wednesday to decide candidate

New Delhi: Leaders of top Opposition parties will meet here on 14 June in a bid to reach a consensus on a joint candidate for the upcoming presidential election. The 10-member group set up by the Opposition will meet for the first time after its constitution, sources said.

The opposition move on Wednesday's meeting came soon after BJP president Amit Shah announced that a panel of three senior ministers — Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and M Venkaiah Naidu — would talk to allies and other parties on presidential candidates.

File image of Sonia Gandhi. PTI

File image of Sonia Gandhi. PTI

Several rounds of talks have already been held among senior opposition leaders on the issue. Congress president Sonia Gandhi has been trying to reach a consensus in the opposition on candidates for the presidential and vice presidential election.

The Opposition is waiting for the ruling dispensation to come up with its candidate and will discuss if the name proposed by the NDA is acceptable to them.

A senior leader said if there was no consensus in the talks with the NDA, the opposition would put up a joint candidate against the NDA nominee.

The sources said Congress leaders Ghulam Nabi Azad and Mallikarjun Kharge represent the Congress in the 10-member group, which also includes other senior opposition leaders such as JD-U's Sharad Yadav, RJD's Lalu Prasad and CPM's Sitaram Yechury.

DMK's Rajya Sabha member RS Bharathi, Samajwadi Party's Ram Gopal Yadav, Bahujan Samaj Party's Satish Chandra Misra, TMC's Derek O'Brien and NCP's Praful Patel are also on the panel. While the ruling party is holding its cards close to its chest, the Opposition has already discussed the names of possible candidates and has held talks with one, former West Bengal Governor Gopalkrishna Gandhi. Among the other names doing the rounds are those of former Speaker Meira Kumar and former defence minister Sharad Pawar, though the NCP strongman has said he is not in the race.

The poll to elect the next president will be held on 17 July and counting will take place on 20 July. The term of incumbent Pranab Mukherjee ends on 24 July and that of Vice-President M Hamid Ansari on 10 August.

A united Opposition had met at a lunch hosted by Sonia Gandhi in Parliament, where it was decided that if the ruling dispensation failed to come up with a candidate with "secular credentials" for the presidential poll, the Opposition would field someone who would "steadfastly defend" the country's constitutional values.

After the meeting last month, Azad and Sharad Yadav read out a joint statement stating that in a presidential election, the ruling party traditionally took the initiative to build a consensus on candidates.

"This has not happened so far. If acceptable consensual candidates do not emerge, then we (opposition parties) shall field such persons who shall steadfastly defend the Constitutional values of our republic," the statement said.

Yadav said while the opposition appealed to the BJP to take the lead and come up with a consensus candidate for the president and vice president's posts, consensus between the ruling and opposition appeared remote.

Updated Date: Jun 12, 2017 20:52 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See