Polling on in Vice Presidential race, will Ansari prevail?

New Delhi: Polling today began on a brisk note for the Vice Presidential election in which UPA candidate Hamid Ansari appears set to fend off the contest put up by NDA nominee Jaswant Singh.

A total of 788 Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha MPs, including nominated members, are eligible to vote in the poll to elect the 14th Vice President.

Hamid Ansari is expected to win the poll. PTI

Ansari, who is seeking re-election, has the support of the UPA, its allies, the Left parties as also other parties supporting it from outside.

Singh, a former Minister of External Affairs and Finance, has the support of the NDA and AIADMK.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi came together to cast the ballot in the Vice Presidential election.

BJP leaders LK Advani and Sushma Swaraj also cast their ballot.

UPA managers are confident that 75-year-old Ansari will get at least 500 votes in a contest giving him a distinct edge as far as the arithmetic is concerned.

The voting began at 10 AM and will continue till 5 PM. Counting of votes will be taken up at 6 PM.

Among the early voters were Congress MPs Priya Dutt and Abhishek Manu Singhvi and Union Minister RPN Singh and V Narayanasami.


Updated Date: Aug 07, 2012 11:55 AM

Also Watch

It's A Wrap: Omerta star Rajkummar Rao in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Thursday, April 19, 2018 Watch: National-level skater and coach Dhwanit Rele trains and nurtures budding athletes
  • Monday, May 14, 2018 FOMO Episode 1: Google Assistant, This is America, Sonam's wedding & Global Warming
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See