Pinarayi Vijayan takes oath as Kerala CM, promises 'people's government'

Auto Refresh Feeds
Pinarayi Vijayan takes oath as Kerala CM, promises 'people's government'
  • 16:22 (IST)

    Two women in the Cabinet 

    The Pinarayi Vijayan government has only two women in the Cabinet. KK Shylaja and J Mercykutty Amma will be taking oath today. 

  • 16:17 (IST)

    Achuthanandan to 'sentinel of the people'

    Achuthanandan had stated that he will continue to be the sentinel of the people. "I wish Vijayan and his new government the best to build a new and resurgent Kerala," Achuthanandan had said.

  • 16:14 (IST)

    Mathew T Thomas takes oath

    Mathew T Thomas of the Janata Dal (Secular) is likely to hold the irrigation and water resources portfolio. 

  • 16:05 (IST)

    E Chandrasekharan takes oath

    Top CPM leaders including E Chandrasekharan take oath after Pinarayi Vijayan. 

  • 16:02 (IST)

    Vijayan takes oath

  • 16:01 (IST)

    Vijayan to hold Home portfolio

    Pinarayi Vijayan is likely hold the Home, Vigilance and IT portfolios. As a measure of austerity, the Left government will be reducing the strength of the ministry from 21 to 19. 

  • 15:55 (IST)

    19 members in the Cabinet

    The Vijayan Cabinet will have 19 members (including the chief minister) and the CPM will have 12 berths, the CPI four and three other LDF constituents - the JD(S), the NCP and the Congress (S) would get one each. 

  • 15:54 (IST)

    CPM bigwigs at the event

    The CPM General Secretary, Sitaram Yechury and politburo member, Prakash Karat, will attend the swearing-in ceremony. Vijayan's rival VS Achuthanandan will also the attend the event. Some reports say Malayalam superstar Mammootty will be present at the event. 

  • 15:50 (IST)

    Stage set for Vijayan

    Pinarayi Vijayan will be sworn-in as the chief minister of Kerala, along with his team of 18 cabinet ministers. Elaborate arrangements has been made for the ceremony at the Central stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

Thiruvananthapuram: CPM leader and Kerala Chief Minister-designate Pinarayi Vijayan said on Wednesday the people have high hopes of the new government ahead of his swearing-in later in the day.

File image of Pinarayi Vijayan. News18

File image of Pinarayi Vijayan. News18

"The people of Kerala have high hopes in our new government and we will also rise to the occasion to make that a reality and deliver," said Vijayan, soon after submitting his list of cabinet ministers to Kerala Governor P Sathasivam.

Vijayan, along with his team of 18 cabinet ministers, will be sworn-in at 4 pm at the Central Stadium in Thiruvananthapuram.

Vijayan, a man of few words and more known for his tough exterior, had pushed out former chief minister VS Achuthanandan, who was also aiming for the top post.

Achuthanandan, however had to be content with a ceremonial title of 'Kerala's Fidel Castro' that was bestowed on him by party general secretary Sitaram Yechury, when Vijayan's name was announced for the top post.

"I wish Vijayan and his new government the best to build a new and resurgent Kerala," Achuthanandan said.

The CPM-led Left Democratic Front swept the 16 May assembly polls, winning 91 seats in the 140-member Kerala Assembly, showing the door to Oommen Chandy's Congress-led government that was in power since 2011.

The UDF had to contend with numerous allegations like the bar scam and the solar scam, besides suspicious land deals, which caused a huge dent to the image of the Chandy government, even though he took development and growth to a new level.

The major campaign of the LDF was to end the corrupt Chandy government and for that they used all forms of the media and the people also responded positively.

The newspapers on Wednesday carried huge advertisements of Vijayan which listed his top priorities, including women's safety.

With inputs from IANS

Firstpost is now on WhatsApp. For the latest analysis, commentary and news updates, sign up for our WhatsApp services. Just go to and hit the Subscribe button.

Updated Date: May 25, 2016 16:22:10 IST

Also See