Odisha Assembly Election 2019: Naveen Patnaik's BJD forges ahead in state, looks set to form government for a fifth time

Bhubaneswar: Odisha's ruling BJD on Thursday looked set to form its government for a fifth straight term, negating a Modi wave that is sweeping the country with its candidates leading in 112 of the state's 146 seats. The redoubtable Naveen Patnaik, who is powering his party to a certain triumph, is leading from both Bijepur and his home turf Hinjili.

 Odisha Assembly Election 2019: Naveen Patnaiks BJD forges ahead in state, looks set to form government for a fifth time

File photo of Odisha chief minister Naveen Patnaik. PTI

Election to one seat was countermanded following the death of a candidate.

The BJP appears set to emerge as the main opposition party, with its nominees leading in 21 seats. However, unlike in most other states where BJP and its allies look in firm command, the saffron party will be a feeble opposition in Odisha.

The BJP has 10 seats in the outgoing House. Congress candidates are leading in 11 places. Congress, which was the main opposition to the BJD since the 2000 elections, has 16 MLAs in the outgoing assembly.

Click here to follow LIVE updates of the Assembly Election Results

CPI-M and JMM are leading in one constituency each. State Congress chief Niranjan Patnaik is trailing BJD candidates in both Ghasipura and Bhandaripokhari Assembly segments.

BJP legislature party leader KV Singhdeo is also trailing BJD's Saroj Kumar Meher in Patnagarh assembly seat. Singhdeo is the sitting MLA from Patnagarh.

State Assembly Speaker Pradip Kumar Amat of BJD is footslogging his BJP candidate rival Susant Kumar Pradhan from Boudh.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on https://www.firstpost.com/firstcricket/series/icc-cricket-world-cup-2019.html. Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: May 23, 2019 14:40:25 IST