associate sponsors


North East Assembly Election results 2018: Counting begins in Nagaland, Meghalaya, Tripura amid tight security

Agartala/Kohima/Shillong: The counting of votes for the Assembly election in Meghalaya, Nagaland and Tripura began on Saturday amid tight security, officials said.

Counting began at 8 am in all the three north eastern states, Election Commission sources said.

Representational image. AP

Representational image. AP

Though the strength of each assembly is 60, voting was held for 59 constituencies in all the three states, for different reasons.

While a CPM candidate died in Tripura, a Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) candidate was killed in Meghalaya, and this resulted in countermanding of the polls in one seat in each of the two states.

In Nagaland, former chief minister Neiphiu Rio won from one seat unopposed.

Tripura went to the polls on 18 February and elections were held in Nagaland and Meghalaya on 27 February.

The Additional Chief Electoral Officer of Tripura, Tapas Ray said counting is on in 59 counting halls for 59 constituencies in 20 sub-divisions of all eight districts.

A three-tier security arrangement has been made for all the counting centres, Ray said adding that it is expected that the results would be out by five hours.

In Nagaland, 349 tables in 17 centres across the state have been set up for the counting of votes, its Chief Electoral Officer Abhijit Sinha said.

Votes in Nagaland are being counted in the presence of the candidates and their agents under the supervision of the respective district returning officers and assistant returning officers, State Additional CEO N Moa Aier told PTI.

Meghalaya chief electoral officer FR Kharkongor said a three-tier security arrangement has been made at all the 13 counting centres and 11 companies of Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) have been deployed here for the counting process.

Live updates: 

Follow all the LIVE updates from Nagaland here

Follow all the LIVE updates from Tripura here

Follow all the LIVE updates from Meghalaya here

Click here for seat sharing pattern in all three states

Updated Date: Mar 03, 2018 08:53 AM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See

{if $hideJSforEU != 'yes'} {/if}