Puducherry polls: 39 nominations filed for 16 May Assembly election

Puducherry: Former Chief Minister V Vaithilingam and 38 others, including independents, filed their nominations on Monday for the 16 May Assembly elections in the Union Territory.

With this, the total number of nominations filed for the 30 Assembly seats at stake has risen to 42 since the poll process began on 22 April, election officials said.


Congress' Vaithilingam, who is the Leader of the Opposition in the outgoing assembly, filed his papers from Kamaraj Nagar constituency.

Pradesh Congress Committee President A Namassivayam filed his nomination seeking re-election from Villianoor while two former ministers and his party colleagues M Kandasamy and M O H F Shah Jahan entered the fray in Embalam (Reserved) and Kalapet constituencies respectively.

CPI state Secretary and Convenor of the People Welfare Alliance R Viswanathan filed his nomination from Kamaraj Nagar while BJP state President V Swaminathan submitted his papers to contest from Lawspet segment.

Former DMK MLA Annibal Kennedy also filed his nomination seeking election from Uppalam segment.

Updated Date: Apr 25, 2016 22:52 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See