Neiphiu Rio sworn-in as Chief Minister of Nagaland for fourth term; Kiren Riijiju, Amit Shah attend ceremony

Kohima: NDPP leader Neiphiu Rio has been sworn in as Chief Minister of Nagaland by Governor PB Acharya at a public function on Thursday.

This will be Rio's fourth term as chief minister of the northeastern state. Rio is heading the 'People's Democratic Alliance' government in partnership with the BJP.

Niuphiu Rio being sworn-in as chief minister. Image courtesy: Twitter/@ANI

Neiphiu Rio being sworn-in as chief minister. Image courtesy: Twitter/@ANI

BJP's Y Patton was administered the oath as the deputy chief minister by the governor.

Ten other ministers were also administered oath of office. They included five from the BJP, three from the Nationalist Democratic Progresstive Party (NDPP), an Independent candidate and a JD(U) MLA.

Defence Minister Nirmala Sitharaman, Union minister Kiren Rijiju, BJP president Amit Shah and the party general secretary Ram Madhav were all present at the swearing-in ceremony. Outgoing chief minister TR Zeliang was also present.

The chief ministers of Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur and Meghalaya also attended Rio's swearing-in.

Rio had staked claim to form the government on 4 March with the support of 32 legislators in the 60-member House, 18 from NDPP, 12 of the BJP, one of the JD(U) and an Independent MLA.

Updated Date: Mar 08, 2018 14:21 PM

Also Watch

Watch: The true stories from Dharavi that inspired Rajinikanth's Kaala
  • Thursday, March 8, 2018 Watch: Cyrus Khan talks about Parkour, jumping across walls and why he hates sitting
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 Unwind: India's basketball sensation Amjyot Singh has his eyes set on becoming an NBA regular
  • Monday, May 28, 2018 First Day First Showsha — Review of Solo: A Star Wars Story in 10 questions
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 Social Media Star: Rajkummar Rao and Bhuvan Bam open up about selfie culture, online trolls

Also See