Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar chief minister: BJP backs JD(U) chief, hopes slim for Lalu's RJD

Hours after the fragile bonding that the Rashtriya Janata Dal and Janata Dal (United) snapped on Wednesday after Nitish Kumar decided to call it quits, BJP announced its support to the JD(U) paving the way for the next government to take over.

The JD(U) and BJP had ruled the state for nine years earlier.

File image of Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav. PTI

File image of Nitish Kumar and Lalu Prasad Yadav. PTI

In the last election in 2015 for the 243-seat Bihar Assembly, RJD won 80 seats, JD(U) 71 while the Congress won 27 seats. With a total strength of 178, the grand alliance, or the Mahagathbandhan comfortably formed the government with Nitish Kumar as the chief minister.

However, after JD(U) pulled out both the RJD and the Congress combined don't have the requisite numbers to continue in the government as they have only 107 seats in their kitty.

The BJP suddenly found itself in the role of the kingmaker as it has 53 seats in the Assembly. Its alliance partner Lok Jan Shakti has two seats. Provided all the three comes along then the number reaches 126 barely above the majority mark.

The RLSP, HAM and CPI(ML) have 2, 1, 1 seats respectively. Although the NDA has 58 members in the Bihar House, the Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) is not very keen on supporting Nitish.

Kumar, given his relatively clean image, was under intense pressure to remove Tejaswi Yadav after his dubious dealings came to the fore following raids to his premises by various investigating agencies.

With Prime Minister Narendra Modi openly praising Kumar for the step he took, there were enough indications already that the BJP would like to see itself back in power in Bihar.

Interestingly, the RJD chief is still hoping to cling to power as it is learnt, the RJD may claim to form the government being the largest single party.

Updated Date: Jul 26, 2017 21:44 PM

Also Watch

Social Media Star: Abhishek Bachchan, Varun Grover reveal how they handle selfies, trolls and broccoli
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 It's a Wrap: Soorma star Diljit Dosanjh and Hockey legend Sandeep Singh in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 Watch: Dalit man in Uttar Pradesh defies decades of prejudice by taking out baraat in Thakur-dominated Nizampur village
  • Monday, July 16, 2018 India's water crisis: After govt apathy, Odisha farmer carves out 3-km canal from hills to tackle scarcity in village
  • Sunday, July 15, 2018 Maurizio Sarri, named as new Chelsea manager, is owner Roman Abramovich's latest gamble in quest for 'perfect football'

Also See