Nitish Kumar expands Bihar Cabinet, 27 new ministers administered oath of office

Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar expanded his cabinet on Saturday with the induction of 27 new ministers from the JD(U), BJP and LJP, PTI reported.

BJP leaders Prem Kumar, Pramod Kumar and Nand Kishore Yadav, as well as Ramvilas Paswan's younger brother Pashupati Paras (LJP), are among those being sworn in. JD(U)'s Jay Kumar Singh and Krishna Nandan Prasad Verma are also among the new pack of ministers.

In the 243-member House, a maximum of 37 ministers are allowed as per the constitutional provisions.

As in the previous government, Nitish Kumar will continue to handle Home and Department of Personnel and Training.



Here is a list of some of the ministers in the new Nitish Kumar government and the portfolios assigned to them:

  • Sushil Kumar Modi: Department of Finance, Commercial taxes, Forest, and Information Technology
  • Nand Kishore Yadav: Road Construction Department
  • Prem Kumar: Department of Agriculture
  • Lalan Singh: Department of Water Resources
  • Pramod Kumar: Tourism
  • Maheshwar Hajari: Building Construction Department
  • Shailesh Kumar: Rural Development Department
  • Suresh Sharma: Urban Development Department
  • Vijendra Yadav: Energy Department
  • Ramnarayan Mandal: Department of Revenue and Land Reforms
  • Jai Kumar: Department of Industries
  • Krishnandand Verma: Department of Education ​

However, no minister from Rashtriya Lok Samta Party (RLSP) and Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM), the two other NDA allies, was inducted in the cabinet.

Governor Keshrinath Tripathi administered oath of office to 14 ministers from JD(U), 12 from BJP and one from LJP. Nitish Kumar chose not to drop any of the ministers who were part of his cabinet in the previous government. He added two more ministers from his party — Dinesh Chandra Yadav and Ramji Rshidev — in the new government.

Nitish’s new cabinet is comparatively young in nature as 17 out of 27 ministers are below 60 years of age. Eight ministers are less than 50 years old. Rana Randheer Singh, BJP MLA from Madhuban, is the youngest minister in the new cabinet.

But no members from former chief minister Jeetan Ram Manjhi’s party HAM and Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP were inducted in the cabinet. Manjhi declined the offer saying after serving as chief minister it was not proper for him to be a minister. However, despite being the only MLA from his party, he demanded three berths for his party which did not go down well with the BJP and JD(U).

It was earlier speculated that Kumar would induct 16-18 new ministers from the JD(U) and BJP-allied parties.

Nitish Kumar on Wednesday had resigned as the chief minister, dumping Grand Alliance partners Rashtriya Janata Dal and the Congress.

He again took oath as the chief minister with the support of the National Democratic Alliance on Thursday. Senior BJP leader Sushil Kumar Modi had also taken oath as the deputy chief minister on Thursday.

With inputs from agencies

Updated Date: Jul 30, 2017 08:15:33 IST

Find latest and upcoming tech gadgets online on Tech2 Gadgets. Get technology news, gadgets reviews & ratings. Popular gadgets including laptop, tablet and mobile specifications, features, prices, comparison.


COVID-19 Information Centre

  • 24 hrs. helpline no. -
  • +91-11-23978046
  • 24 hrs. toll free no. -
  • 1075


  • Active Cases

  • Total Confirmed

  • Cured/Discharged

  • Total DEATHS

*change over the previous day
Data Source: Ministry of Health and Family Welfare, India
Updated: Jun 04 (08 AM)
Hospitals & Testing centres


  • Active Cases

  • Total Confirmed

  • Cured/Discharged

  • Total DEATHS

*change over the previous day
Data Source: Johns Hopkins University, U.S. (
Updated: Jun 04 (08 AM)
Hospitals & Testing centres