Co-presented by

Nitish govt in Bihar has no moral right to rule: BJP

Patna: BJP today said that the ruling JD(U) government in Bihar has no "moral right" to stay in power for showing "disrespect" to the slain jawans and the armed forces.

"It is a matter of grave concern that neither Chief Minister Nitish Kumar nor any of his ministers was present at the airport to receive the bodies of four slain jawans on Wednesday," BJP vice-president CP Thakur told reporters.

"The chief minister himself could not get away from his duty to lay wreath on the bodies of the jawans on the plea that he was not in the state capital as he could have done so at the airport in New Delhi as he had gone there to attend a function," Thakur said.

 Nitish govt in Bihar has no moral right to rule: BJP

Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar. Reuters

Kumar's insensitive and callous attitude towards the slain jawans was reflected in the fact that he did not directed any of his ministers to receive the bodies and lay wreath on them on behalf of the state government, the senior BJP leader said, adding that such a government has no moral right to remain in power for even a day.

Seeking removal of senior minister Bhim Singh for his deplorable remark on the jawans, the BJP leader demanded construction of their life size statues either in their native villages or district headquarters so that succeeding generations could remember their supreme sacrifices for the nation.

"If the state government did not want to construct statues of the jawans, then he would do so from his MPLAD fund," Thakur said.

He further demanded construction of roads and related infrastructure at the native villages of the slain jawans as no development whatsoever was visible in these areas.

Four of the five jawans, killed by Pakistani troops along the LoC on Tuesday, were from Bihar.


Your guide to the latest election news, analysis, commentary, live updates and schedule for Lok Sabha Elections 2019 on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates from all 543 constituencies for the upcoming general elections.

Updated Date: Aug 10, 2013 18:19:21 IST