New Delhi to GK: Key battles to watch out for in Delhi election 2015 results

Although the exit polls have all predicted an AAP victory, the reality is that the battle for Delhi could be a lot closer than many people think. Sixteen constituencies of the 70 that went to polls are almost too close to call, and a win for either party could give them a decisive advantage. We take a look at these 16 and other crucial battlegrounds:

New Delhi

AAP's chief ministerial candidate was the giant killer in the 2013 poll when he beat Congress's Sheila Dikshit. This time round he's favourite to win against BJP's Nupur Sharma and Congress veteran Kiran Walia despite the two rivals raking up multiple allegations against him. Can Kejriwal win the prestigious seat yet again, or will Sharma be the new 'giant killer'?

Krishna Nagar

Although long considered a 'safe' seat for the BJP, it's chief ministerial candidate Kiran Bedi will still keep an eye on the results for AAP's SK Bagga, who has had Kejriwal campaigning for him. Bansi Lal of the Congress is also in the running but is unsurprisingly not being watched too closely.

Sadar Bazaar

Som Dutt Sharma of the AAP won this seat by just 796 votes in the 2013 polls and this time round he's going to be up against the Congress's Ajay Maken. Also in the mix is Parveen Kumar Jain of the BJP but may not be a key contender.

 New Delhi to GK: Key battles to watch out for in Delhi election 2015 results

PTI image

Greater Kailash

Saurabh Bharadwaj of the AAP is largely expected to hold on to his seat but he's up against the President's daughter Sharmistha Mukherjee, which is bound to be a little daunting. Don't count out Rakesh Kumar Gullaiya of the BJP who will also be hoping to make his mark.

Patel Nagar

Former UPA government minister Krishna Tirath switched sides to the BJP and will be up against AAP's Hazari Lal, who won the 2013 poll. The AAP's expected to win the seat despite the former UPA minister's last minute switching of sides. Rajesh Lilothia of the Congress is also in the running.


Manish Sisodia of the AAP will be hoping to hold on to his seat and it will be particularly sweet if he does so, given that his rival is Vinod Kumar Binny, who after giving the AAP a lot of trouble, is contesting on a BJP ticket. INC's Anil Kumar is also in the running.

Sangam Vihar

Dinesh Mohaniya of the Aam Aadmi Party won by a whisker in the 2013 polls with just 777 votes separating him from his nearest competitor in this constituency where regularisation of illegal colonies is a major issue. The man he beat the last time, ex-MLA Shiv Charan Lal Gupta, is contesting against him again and in the mix is Congress candidate Vishan Aggarwal.

RK Puram

Anil Sharma of the BJP won this seat by a little over 300 votes in the 2013 election where he beat AAP's Shazia Ilmi. This time round he doesn't have to worry about her but has another AAP contender in the form of Parmila Tokas who has been in a pitched battle against him. Can she do what her former leader couldn't?


He won the seat by just 405 seats in the 2013 polls but Mahinder Yadav of the AAP will be hoping to win a little more comfortably this time around. The BJP has a new challenger for him this time around, in the form of Sanjay Singh who they are hoping will be more successful. Nand Kishore of the Congress will be hoping to play spoiler.

Delhi Cantt

AAP's Surender Singh, a former NSG commando, will be hoping to better his victory margin of just 355 votes in the 2013 polls this time round. Karan Singh Tanwar of the BJP lost in 2013 but will be hoping to reverse the results this time.   Congress's Sandeep Tanwar is also in the fray.

Sultanpur Majra

Congress's Jai Kishan will be hoping to defy all exit poll predictions and hold out against some very strong challengers. AAP's Sandeep Kumar and Parbhu Dayal of the BJP will be hoping to edge him out this time.

Karol Bagh

Vishesh Ravi of the AAP won the seat by a relatively slender margin in the 2013 poll and will be hoping to hold on to his seat against BJP's Yogender Chandoliya and INC's Madan Khorwal.

Tilak Nagar

Jarnail Singh of the AAP won the seat in 2013 but can he beat the BJP's Rajiv Babbar again? It was a close battle the last time round and Singh will be hoping it will be a lot easier to the finishing tape this time.


Jagdish Mukhi of the BJP is considered a heavyweight for the Janakpuri seat despite a slim margin of victory in the 2013 election. AAP's Rajesh Rishi will be be fighting an uphill battle. But the candidate to watch will be Congress's Suresh Kumar who happens to be the BJP leader's son-in-law.


Sat Prakash Rana of the BJP is holding the seat presently but he's up against the optimistic Colonel Devinder Sehrawat, who is taking a shot at the seat despite losing in the 2013 poll and the 2014 general elections. Vijay Singh Lochav of the Congress is also in the running.


The BJP holds this seat presently thanks to the Shiromani Akali Dal's Harmeet Singh Kalka and will be hoping he will be able to defend his seat in this election. The AAP has changed its candidate this time round and Avtar Singh will be hoping to have better luck than his predecessor. Subhash Chopra of the Congress will be hoping to prove the pundits wrong.


Maninder Singh Dhir won the seat for the AAP in 2013 but has since switched sides and is now contesting on a BJP ticket, something the party's activists weren't reportedly too pleased about. The AAP's hoping it's candidate, Praveen Kumar, enjoys the same success as their previous one.


Ranjeet Singh of the BJP won not-so-comfortably during the last election but he'll be hoping that he can hold on to his seat. The AAP had accused him of using a fake caste certificate to contest the poll the last time round and will be hoping that their candidate Fateh Singh will win the seat this time round. Kumari Rinku of the Congress is also in the fray.


Hasan Ahmed of the Congress won one of the few seats for the party in the 2013 poll and will be hoping to defy the pundits predictions again. He's up against Mohammed Yunus of the AAP and Jagdish Pradhan of the BJP. Given the support that the AAP is said to enjoy among minorities, Yunus will be hoping to be the favourite this time round.

Your guide to the latest cricket World Cup stories, analysis, reports, opinions, live updates and scores on Follow us on Twitter and Instagram or like our Facebook page for updates throughout the ongoing event in England and Wales.

Updated Date: Feb 10, 2015 07:21:52 IST