Nagaland Assembly polls: First batch of 22 contestants files nomination on penultimate day

Kohima: The first batch of 22 contestants filed their nominations for the 27 February Nagaland Assembly polls on the penultimate day on Tuesday, the state chief electoral officer (CEO) said.

The filing of nominations for the 60-member house had started on 31 January, but all the political parties in the northeastern state kept away till Tuesday as the Core Committee of Nagaland Tribal Hohos and Civil Organisations (CCNTHCO) had, through a joint declaration on 29 January, appealed to them to refrain from participating in the election.

Representational image. PTI

Representational image. PTI

The CCNTHCO had sought the support of the political parties to its call for a solution to the protracted Naga political issue first.

The appeal for "solution, not election" by the Naga tribal organisations had forced the intending candidates to refrain from filing their nominations due to the fear of being the first to be marked as "anti-Naga". All political parties, except the BJP, had agreed not to contest the polls.

A 12-hour bandh was called by the CCNTHCO in the state on 1 February against the poll notification, despite the general appeal for a solution to the Naga political problem before the election.

However, as the CCNTHCO had left it to the political parties to decide on whether to participate in the polls or not, state home minister and Naga People's Front (NPF) nominee for the Phek seat, Kuzholuzo Azo Nienu was the first to file nomination on Tuesday, sources in the CEO's office said.

Of the 22 nominations filed, seven were from the ruling NPF, six from the BJP, eight from the newly-floated Nagaland Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and one from the JD(U), state CEO Abhijit Sinha said.

The most prominent among them is the three-time former chief minister and sitting Lok Sabha MP Neiphiu Rio, who is the NDPP's chief ministerial candidate from the Northern Angami-II seat.

The BJP has forged a pre-poll alliance with the NDPP.

Besides Nienu, two other ministers, Vikheho Swu and P Longon, Chief Minister TR Zeliang's advisors Chotisuh Sazo and TM Lotha also filed their papers. Lotha will contest on a BJP ticket, while the other three are NPF candidates.

Zeliang will file his nomination on Wednesday, the last day of nomination-filing, NPF sources said.

A scrutiny of the nomination papers will be held on Thursday and the last date for withdrawal is 12 February.

So far, the NPF has announced the names of 58 candidates, the BJP and its ally NDPP have named 20 and 38 nominees respectively, the Congress 23, the JD(U) 14, the NCP six and the National People's Party (NPP) has announced the names of 29 candidates.

Updated Date: Feb 06, 2018 22:33 PM

Also Watch

IPL 2018: Royal Challengers Bangalore eye revival against Chennai Super Kings as 'Cauvery Derby' comes back to life
  • Thursday, April 26, 2018 In the Kanjarbhat community, a campaign against 'virginity tests' is slowly gaining ground
  • Tuesday, April 24, 2018 It's A Wrap: Beyond the Clouds stars Ishaan Khatter, Malavika Mohanan in conversation with Parul Sharma
  • Monday, April 9, 2018 48 hours with Huawei P20 Pro: Triple camera offering is set to redefine smartphone imaging
  • Monday, April 16, 2018 Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore interview: Sports can't be anyone's fiefdom, we need an ecosystem to nurture raw talent

Also See